Do Your Children Require a Car Seat?
Sentinel Limousine is a perfect solution when you need corporate transportation, a night out with friends, or even a ride to the airport with your family.
Rhode Island requires children under a certain age and/or weight to be in a child car safety seat - even when riding with a Sentinel Limo chauffeur. If you will not be bringing your own child car safety seat, for an additional rental fee, Sentinel Limo can provide one that meets Rhode Island requirements. Below you will see the rental options we have for your children to use in our vehicles.
Infant Car Seat
Rhode Island Child Car Safety Seat Laws
Type of Seat: Infant seats and rear-facing convertible seats
General Guidelines: All infants and toddlers under the age of two (2) or weighing less than thirty (30) pounds must ride in a rear-facing child safety seat.
Type of Seat: Convertible seats and forward-facing seats with harnesses
Guidelines: All children 2 years or older, or those younger than 2 years who have outgrown the rear-facing weight or height limit for their safety seat, should use a forward-facing child safety seat with a harness for as long as possible, up to the highest weight or height allowed by their car safety seat's manufacturer.
Type of Seat: Booster seats
General Guidelines: All children whose weight or height is above the forward-facing limit for their harnessed child safety seat should use a belt-positioning booster seat until the vehicle seat belt fits properly, typically when they have reached 4 feet 9 inches in height and are between 8 and 12 years of age.
Type of Seat: Seat belts
General Guidelines: When children are old enough and large enough to use the vehicle seat belt alone, they should always use lap and shoulder seat belts for optimal protection. All children younger than 13 years should be restrained in the rear seats of vehicles for optimal protection.
Car seats must be installed by the client. Our chauffeurs are not allowed to install any car seats rented or owned by the clients due to insurance liability.
The Rhode Island State Police and your local police department have Child Passenger Safety Technicians who can teach you to properly install your child safety seat or answer any questions you have.
Rhode Island has a primary seat belt law (R.I.G.L. § 31-22-22) that encompasses child restraint and child passenger safety.
- Any passenger thirteen (13) years of age or older, in any seating position, shall be transported properly wearing a safety belt and/or shoulder harness system per R.I.G.L. § 31-22-22(f).
- A motor vehicle operator shall be properly wearing a safety belt and/or shoulder harness system per R.I.G.L. § 31-22-22(g).
- All infants and toddlers under the age of two (2) years or weighing less than thiry (30) pounds must be restrained in a rear-facing car seat per R.I.G.L. § 31-22-22(a).
- Children under age eight (8) years old, less than fifty-seven (57) inches (4 feet, 9 inches) tall and weighing less than 80 lbs. (max weight limit of a booster seat) must be transported in any rear seating position of a motor vehicle and properly restrained in a child restraint system per R.I.G.L. § 31-22-22(a).
- Children between the ages of 8 through 12 as a passenger in any seating position shall be properly wearing a safety belt per R.I.G.L. § 31-22-22(a).
NOTE: Vehicle operators are responsible for compliance of sections (a), (b) and (f) for all passengers. The fine for a child riding in the front seat and/or over 8 years old not in a seatbelt is $85. A violation for transporting a child not in a child restraint system requires an appearance in court.